AG single malt questions

all about mashing and fermenting grains

AG single malt questions

Postby Lowey79 » Sun May 12, 2019 8:46 pm

Hey guys, I have a few questions for the guys out there that have had success making single malt whiskey, as I have not had much luck...

So I’ve made 4 attempts at making a single malt, and varied the recipe or process each time to try and figure out what’s going wrong, but the result is still the same. Each one I’ve done has stalled in the fermentation at around 1.02, and resulted a very sour wash, at around Ph 3.3-3.4. I’ve tried running each wash through my pot still, but the off taste/smell carries through to the spirit.

I started with:

5kg pale malt
2kg Medium peated malt
2 Tbs Safspirit Grain yeast

I tried changing mash temps between 65-63°C, same result. Tried using 2 packets of M36 Liberty Bell Ale Yeast, same result.

Is there something obvious that I’m missing? I’ve been brewing AG beer on my grainfather for a couple of years, so I’m confident that my system and process are ok.

The only things I’m not sure on are my ingredients and my water profile... the one ingredient that has been in every attempt is the peated malt. Can a malt go bad and create the problem I’m having?
Can water profile affect the fermentation? The water in my area is very soft, with minimal mineral content. What water profile should I be aiming for?
Could yeast pitch rate play a factor? I’ve only used 20-30g to 23-25ltrs of wort. Is this enough?
Or am I just not using the right yeast?

Any, and all suggestions welcome, as I have not been able to find a fix, and I’m a little disappointed with my efforts so far.

Cheers.
Lowey79

equipment: T500 for the time being... Looking to build a replacement in the near future

Re: AG single malt questions

Postby bluc » Sun May 12, 2019 9:38 pm