Howdy! Need some advice/help!

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Howdy! Need some advice/help!

Postby victorski » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:11 pm

Howdy everyone,
I've really taken an interest in this nice little community and fantastic knowledge shared on these forums! I've been brewing beers for a couple years and decided to take it to the next step and would like to start distilling! I've read a lot and think I've barely skimmed the surface but things are starting to come together!

I'm looking to make some neutral with the possibility of being used as a pot still to make some flavoured spirits, would i be looking at LM for that use? I'm not particularly patient and a bit of a perfectionist so i'm thinking of investing straight into a 3" LM Boka :) I live in Sydney and am wondering if i can commission someone to construct it for me :) roughly how much a 3" Boka cost including all the copper scrubbing ?

With some help from a mate i think I'll be able to construct a Keg Boiler with a 2200w heating element from aussiebrewmakers, would 2200w be sufficient to heat 25L batches ? Also i'm super confused about what sort of yield one would get from say a 25L TPW ?

Is there anything I've overlooked ? I'm in the proccess of reading through the Compleat Distiller to gain a better understanding of the whole process :) any help would be fantastic, thanks in advance!

Victor
victorski

equipment: 2.5" Pot Still with 50L Keg Boiler

Re: Howdy! Need some advice/help!

Postby devotus » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:19 pm

the wash question is easy to answer

25 litre TPW @ 10% abv = 2.5 litre 100% (which is impossible) then subtract approx 500 ml for fores,heads and tails etc will leave you approx 2 litre of 95% neutral.

If you're impatient then trust me stick with your idea of a big diameter column as making neutral is a pain in the butt for small diameters.

The other questions will have to be answered by those with an idea
devotus