Newbie - 3" Reflux Design

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Newbie - 3" Reflux Design

Postby sam » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:19 pm

Hi all, hope you're all well and in good spirits,
I am new to this, I have been reading posts here for last few days and now have a very small understanding of this confusing hobby.
Over the years I have made home brew beer, as a youngster in bottles, then moved on to kegs, of which I have a reasonable grasp and hope will help with my new endeavour.
Lately I've been drinking more spirits than beer so I thought I'd try my hand at distilling. I wish to build my own still and I've attached a picture (hopefully) of my plan of action.
I have looked at the highly recommended slant plate design but I prefer the look of the off set head, strange/silly reason I know, but it is one!
Can someone with a good understanding of how these things work, help me out, by commenting on the design...

1) will it work?
2) will it work well and efficently?
3) what problems can be seen in the design?
4) what should I change?
5) will the heating element be sufficient? and if it's too efficient, how does one control the running temperature?
6) what sort of results should I expect in regards to the magic 95%?
7) ball park cost (broken down) of materials? excluding the boiler/element
7) anything else I havn't thought of!

Please help, thanks in advance and cheers!
Sam
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sam

equipment: collecting the pieces

Re: Newbie - 3" Reflux Design

Postby maheel » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:11 pm

it will work, i had one of these in 2" before i swapped to a BOKA many years ago.
it went OK and was capable of around 93% and they run pretty much the same as a bok.

IMO you only need one valve on the offtake and not one on the reflux return but 2 wont hurt just adds extra $$

i reckon the 2200 will run it but would be better with a bit more on the 3" i think say 3000w