First Ever Distil - TPW?

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

First Ever Distil - TPW?

Postby Citris » Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:21 pm

Hi Guys

Newbie here (Just posed in the welcome section) I am about to do my first ever spirits distils, I am going to do 3 Separate fermentations at the same time (3 fermenters, Might as well). First of all, I have a POT Still, that info might help with the answers. Now I have been reading through a lot of the post and topics on your forum to get a good idea of what to do, I have also posted a topic on the homebrew&beer forum, but was more or less directed your way.

OK first up, I want to try 3 types of fermentation, to get an idea of what I like. the 3 was going to be, Full dextrose (sugar), A full mash, using grains? (I'm probably wrong here), and a sort of half/half. I guess at this point I should mention I'm after a bourbon/whiskey. Now however, I have read about 2 different types that peeked my interest. the TPW, and the UJSM. So I guess ill start by asking, is the TPW OK to be made in a POT still? or is it more of a reflux job? Seems to me you would get a tomato taste from a POT still. Second thing relates to the UJSM, seems like this could make a good bourbon as well as a whiskey, as I have heard you sometimes loose the bite you get by just using essence. Has anyone done this? UJSM Bourbon, and what sort of recipe did you use? Wood Shavings? or just essence?

Oh and I don't suppose someone could explain how to do a Strip and Sprint run using a POT still, I tried searching for this one but came up blank, Just small amounts of info that makes me curious...

Look forward from hearing from you guys.

P.S. Any links to a 'How To' for both methods would also be appreciated, if there is any.

P.P.S Found the full UJSM recipe, just looking for a TPS one.
Citris

equipment: Local HBS Kit - Not sure yet...

Re: First Ever Distil - TPW?

Postby Kimbo » Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:57 pm

Hi Citris,

Citris wrote:Hi Guys