Electric heater Vs Gas Heater?

Parrots beaks, valves, condensers, and all other hardware for stilling.

Electric heater Vs Gas Heater?

Postby Grandvewe » Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:30 pm

Hi Guys,
Im very new to distilling and dont own one at the moment but Iam doing the required research now.
Im looking at getting a distiller that will require a separate heating element under it. Most likley a pot still for whiskey and rum, or maybe a Reflux.
Im planning to have a still with about a 25L - 35L capacity.

My question is what is the safest and most effective heating element for your distiller?
General cooking rules say gas is the best for the fastest and most consistent heat. This would make me think Gas would perform best.
The danger I assume with a gas heater is that it is an open flame that could potentially create a dangerous fire if your still happens to have a leak.

This lead me to think iam best to buy a portable electric heater but Im not sure if it would get hot enough or if it would take too long to heat 25-35 litres of wash.

Obviously you should check your still for any leaks every time you use it but I thought if there are good portable electric heaters out there then it would be safer to go with this option?

So im asking for everyones opinions on this and any recommendations/links.

Thanks in advance (hope this is not a repeat question)
Grandvewe

equipment: FSD Pot still off a 50L Keg with gin basket

Re: Electric heater Vs Gas Heater?

Postby blond.chap » Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:33 pm

Hi Mate and welcome,

Responses to your questions:
Grandvewe wrote:Hi Guys,
Im very new to distilling and dont own one at the moment but Iam doing the required research now.
Im looking at getting a distiller Just called a Still that will require a separate heating element under it. Most likley a pot still for whiskey and rum, or maybe a Reflux.
Im planning to have a still with about a 25L - 35L capacity.