Gday everyone

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Gday everyone

Postby bing » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:02 pm

Im a complete novice when it comes to this subject but very interesed to giveit a go. I am attempting to build my fist still today from plans I got from moonshine-still.com. Can any body tell me if this design is a goodstart for a beginner. I will be usinga 50ltr keg gas heated.
Cheers
bing

equipment: 2"internal reflux column liebig condenser. currently under constuction

Re: Gday everyone

Postby maheel » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:37 pm

do you mean this ?

i would say stop right now and do some more research

consider a boka or a valved VM Vapor management still using a triclamp easy flange for the keg
maheel

Postby maheel » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:42 pm

kegs are great and are so easy once set up, thats a great choice :handgestures-thumbupleft: .

the design you might have chosen is not "world class" and can be a challenge to run with any real reflux control

also tell us what you might l;like to drink (what product you want) then we can offer some guidance to the best options

welcome to the forum
maheel

Postby stubbydrainer » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:22 pm

G'day Bing
welcome to our little corner of the interweb :teasing-neener:

Yeah, Maheel is right , stay away from that design :handgestures-thumbdown: , Noah traded in the ark in on one of those, there's heaps better around now :-D

as maheel said, tell us what you ultimately want to make/drink , and advice will be free flowing for you , then you can at least have an educated guess :laughing-rolling: :laughing-rolling:

Main thing is....enjoy yourself (this place is often good for a laugh) and you could learn something along the way :geek:

Cheers
Stubs
stubbydrainer

equipment: 4" perf. plate bubbler,2 1/2" pot with a triple wall liebig,
Small 8L pot for experiments & Gin, 6Kw 80ltr electric boiler , P.I.D/PWM controller
1/2 share with SBB in a 3" boka,

Postby SBB » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:44 pm

G'day Bing