Noob Introduction & Pre-purchase advice request

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Noob Introduction & Pre-purchase advice request

Postby rvn » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:07 pm

Hey all..I hope I'm doing the right thing posting this here as an introduction before hitting up your community for free advice and clogging up your threads.

A bit about me:

I've a few years experience with home brewing beer, however zero with distilling. It's fair to say I have the bug now and will be moving into this one way or the other :)

I would describe myself as somewhat technically minded but not neccessarily practially capable (in terms of the skills or equipement to facilitate "building my own" still etc)
but hopefully what I lack in brain power etc I can make up for with a willingness to apply myself to all your gratiously supplied information.

My Goals

In terms of some clear goal setting I would define that as the following:

A good quality neutral to cater for (in order of priority):

-making "medical tinctures" (possibly NOT the best thing to discuss in "detail" but I've been making various for years but purchasing a high grade 95% from a store as the base)
-gin
-further broadening my horizons into vodka / rums

Saving $ is a bonus but not the driving factor
Time is a factor to be balanced where possible.

Ideally I'm looking at getting a 65LT brewzilla boiler which I can share with my beer brewing interests

Space-wise, I have a 2nd (family size) bathroom that should accommodate everything and can leave things setup for extended periods and obviously
has reasonable access to water, drainage & power. I'd be happy to have some portable shelving setup go in there too if it helps.

Research so far
My current thought process:

My interest was initially flared by some of the equipment I noticed in my local home brew shop during visits for my beer supplies..so basically a