G'day From Heffers

Say Hi and introduce yourself

G'day From Heffers

Postby Heffers » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:09 pm

Howdy all,

I’ve been having a bit of a read of this site over the last few days and reckon that it’s tip top so I wanted to say hello and introduce myself.

I’m fairly new to distilling but in saying that I have just finished making my second still and think that I’m nearly happy with the design (I’ll post details in the appropriate section when I get a chance).

I got into distilling with the simple goal of chasing better a quality of drink (read hangover avoidance) and having a bit of fun with discovering different flavours.

I’m still using sugar/turbo washes until I can really get to know my setup and then I’ll concentrate on some more organic washes and getting some nice rums on the boil.

I also want to look into ageing both in jars with oak chunks and also getting myself a nice barrel to play around with (wife take note). I dare say that there will be plenty of questions coming at you all from me over the months and hopefully in time I can provide a few answers aswell.

Till then, cheers,
Heffers
Heffers

equipment: 2.5" Pot Still for Stripping
2.5" Condensor Controlled - Neutral Producer
2.2kW 50L Keg

Re: G'day From Heffers

Postby bassb » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:36 pm

Hi Heffers

Welcome to the forum,You have come to right place for good info advice. Macstill and Spud1700 are great helpers with distilling Oils info :lol: (code name alcohol) :lol:

Cheers
Bassb
bassb

Postby MacStill » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:37 pm

Nice intro Heffers, and welcome to the forum :)

So what type of still is the new addition?

Cheers.
MacStill
Lifetime Member

equipment: Anything I choose :P

Postby Heffers » Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:50 pm

It's a simple full stainless steel reflux tower. It's 1 metre tall and 70mm ID. I pack the column with stainless pot scrubbers to about 800mm and has a 3/8th copper coil that is about 180mm long.