another mislead newbie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

another mislead newbie

Postby where to start » Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:56 pm

Hi All

Wow am I happy to have found this forum, my wife not so much!

I am new to brewing / distilling and currently didn't really have a hobby... until now

I am normally one for researching the hell out of something before committing to a purchase yet on the occasion of a still purchase I did not and am now kicking myself. A couple colleagues have a t5oo and spent many a hours bragging about how much booze they are making etc. So after telling those stories to the minister of finance I was able to twist her arm into letting me buy a still and get some bourbon and whiskey production underway. Little did I know the t500 is not suited to this task :angry-banghead:

So I am now in the predicament that I managed to get the initial funds for this POS (copper t500) and very unlikely to get many more to sell and "upgrade". I've spent hours upon hours trawling through the threads looking for some guidance / advise / suggestions on what to do. I really want to make some mashes (Macwhiskey, weetbix, nutrigrain etc)

I've since replaced t500 outlet with copper pipe purchased a boiler lid adapter and a power controller but unsure on what direction i want / need to go. DIY Pot head / Liebig condenser?? Plead, beg, steal funds for a proper initial setup?

Help / guidance / advice would be greatly appreciated.
where to start

equipment: Copper 4" 4 plate bubbler, 500mm packed section and gin basket attachment

Re: another mislead newbie

Postby Yonder » Sat Oct 09, 2021 4:04 pm

Tell her how much you love and appreciate her. :romance-kisscheek: Hold the line, telling her its going well. :liar: After 6 months start angling for an upgrade to “make a better product, cheaper.” Lie about how much you’re saving :whistle: . Oh, and try to make something she likes. :cool:
Yonder

equipment: 10 gal copper pot w/doubler and a lot of enthusiasm