Another from FNQ

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Another from FNQ

Postby rotten » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:48 pm

Hello all,
New to this forum but I have been playing the game for a couple of years now. Actually have three separate styles of wash blurping away beside me right now.
Rotten by name and sometimes by nature!
rotten

Re: Another from FNQ

Postby Heffers » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:18 pm

G'day Rotten,

Welcome aboard mate. What have got fermenting there?

Cheers, Heffers
Heffers

equipment: 2.5" Pot Still for Stripping
2.5" Condensor Controlled - Neutral Producer
2.2kW 50L Keg

Postby maheel » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:19 pm

lol welcome Rotten

give us some more info about your rotten ideas

whats your poison an method ?
maheel

Postby rotten » Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:17 pm

Sorry for the delay in replying been away for a bit. I usually use a basic TP sugar wash, with the addition of a non urea based fertiliser similar to DAP. I have tried just using the fert with no TP but the wash after exploding (not literally but will foam out of fermenter) into action takes longer to ferment completely. I have also tried a simple sugar was with neither TP or fert but it takes forever to ferment out.
I then distill to completely neutral with a small reflux still (will be upgrading once I move) and usually make my own brand of spiced rum with vanilla bean, ginger, cinnamon sticks,cloves, all spice, whole nutmeg, dried dates and left on oak for about 12 months at 93%. The result gets drunk with Pepsi Max so my waistline stays relatively normal.
I tend to stay away from the Home brew shop stuff (turbo yeasts etc.)
I am by no means an expert and really only started distilling as a hobby, now I drink nothing else. Haven't had a hangover yet from it (touch wood)
rotten

Postby MacStill » Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:25 pm

Sounds like you got a pretty good handle on things rotten, have you ever tried just aging your rum on oak without all the other stuff in it?

What wash do you use for a rum?