G'day

Say Hi and introduce yourself

G'day

Postby grumpthehermit » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:52 am

Hello All,

I've been lurking around this site for a while and doing a bit of reading before joining up yesterday. :-D

I've been making beer kit ( from a tin ) beers for over 10 years and now want to try my hand at making neutral spirits for making scotch and anything else that sounds interesting.

I have purchased a "pure distilling" reflux still and base but have not run it yet, I see allot of the commercially made stills seem to get fair amount of "constructive criticism" here, but I am hoping what I have bought is at least a good way to start learning.

I started a "turbo yeast" "classic" wash yesterday with 7.25 grams of sugar, it's bubbling it's brains out at between 25.8 - 26.3 degrees so far but smells really rotten egg like. From what I have read so far I thinking I'll be straight onto a TPW next as it seems like a better ( and cheaper ) way to go to make a better neutral.

I also have a pack of "turbo clear", a two part mix to clear the wash before running, and an antifoam ( silicon based additive ??? ) does anyone recommend using these or is it just best to let everything settle out naturally before heating everything up. :?

I would like to hear some feedback about the still I have from anyone who has one or knows of them, I'm sure I did see a member of this site lists having one of these on their profile, It would be good to know if there are any tips or tricks to getting to best operation out of it, should I insulate the column etc ???

Thanks for reading, any feedback greatly appreciated.

Cheers
GTH
grumpthehermit

Re: G'day

Postby stubbydrainer » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:20 am

G'day GTH
welcome to this little corner of the interweb :text-welcomewave:
I can'y help ya mate with the HBS stuff ( I refuse to use the shit :laughing-rolling: :laughing-rolling: )