Oxy/LPG equipment

Posts in this forum should be a complete method, educational, with pics where applicable,posts made in this area that don't fit this criteria will be moved at mods discretion.

Oxy/LPG equipment

Postby AJS » Sun May 12, 2019 1:29 pm

Hi Gents/Ladies

A quick question to the knowledgeable here regarding Oxy gear. I've 25 years propane soft soldering experience, but looking to step up my game with a 4" build I'm planning. I was hoping to use Oxy/LPG for the hard soldering to keep the cost of gas down, but finding used gear is difficult (or I'm looking in the wrong places). Plenty of Oxy/Acetylene. I was wondering if Oxy/Acetylene equipment can be used with LPG? From my research, it appears the regulators for acetylene and LPG have different pressure ratings, so I expect than a LPG rated reg would be needed. Is this the only difference, or do I need different hoses, flashback arrestors, etc.......

Cheers
AJS
AJS

equipment: Pot still into a thumper

Re: Oxy/LPG equipment

Postby hillzabilly » Sun May 12, 2019 2:30 pm

You could make a call to a few hire places,ifn you can maybe another option to buying gear you wil rarely use.cheers hillzabilly :handgestures-thumbupleft:
hillzabilly

equipment: 10 gallon OZARK pot still ,2inch and 3inch Nixon Stone coloum stills ,10 and 18 gal beer keg boilers,5gal thumper keg.And the one and only 4" Five Star Southern Cross .

Postby AJS » Sun May 12, 2019 2:51 pm

Hey Hillz

At $101 a day, I reckon its cheaper to buy used, then if it isn't used for a while, sell and get 80-90% of money back.
AJS

Postby Cadmoon » Sun May 12, 2019 3:49 pm

Why not buy a maap gas torch off you just want to braze? They're more than hot enough and if you're only doing a fairly small amount of brazing it's much less outlay that a proper oxy acetylene set up.
Cadmoon

equipment: Home made pelican with shotgun condenser on a t500 with alembic dome.

Postby scythe » Sun May 12, 2019 8:15 pm

Ok so...