My LM/VM has peepers

Reflux still design and discussion

My LM/VM has peepers

Postby Yummyrum » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:36 pm

Thought I might show you my still .This is my first attempt.I originally was going to build one of those valved offset types that I found a link to on Tony Acklands Home Distiller.Some 1 1/4" ,1 1/2" and 2" came my way so I bought the 2x 2" Tees while I pondered the piece of 3" for the reflux condenser shell.

During this time I discovered HD had a forum :laughing-rolling: and after much reading realized that that design was shit .
Stuck with two expensive ( well they did come from Reeces) Tees I come up
Stillin Pics 0037 rotated.jpg
with this plan after seeing that the "flute" ( just stuck that in for a stir up) guys were having so much fun.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Yummyrum

equipment: Did use Still Spirits Reflux
Now use 50l Keg with Pot head for Rum and Neutral stripping runs on gas .
LM/VM head with 1m packed 2" on Still Spirits boiler for Neutrals.

Re: My LM/VM has peepers

Postby Yummyrum » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:42 pm

First off I was going to use my Still spirits Boiler so my first copper experience was to bash out a large flange that would fit onto the SS lid and then an easy flange to attach the colonm or using an adapter section,my old Still spirits reflux head.LOL since having this head haven't used to Still Spirits one. :))

This was easier than I had expected but I did use about half a MAPP bottle annealing it periodically.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Yummyrum

Postby MR-E » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:54 pm

Very nice, some great thinking on the boiler connection :handgestures-thumbupleft:
MR-E

equipment: Cooking on gas,50ltr keg, 3"Bok &
4" column with 6 perf plates

Postby Yummyrum » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:55 pm