First run on Super Express 3kw Still

Reflux still design and discussion

First run on Super Express 3kw Still

Postby Fuzzybear » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:33 pm

Hi All. :greetings-waveyellow:
I am a fully fledged newbie & I just completed my first run on my still and had pretty mixed bag of results.
First of all I did follow the instructions manual to the letter (or at-least I think I did)
On the first run I ran the still with both elements and was pretty impressed with how quickly it got up to temp and started producing.
However the tower cooling temp was at the max end and the cooling water flow was flat out :? it become apparent at around the 1hr :45min mark the temp climbed and the wash flooded out in to the product :scared-eek: :wtf:
So after re-read the instructions and a bit of researching on the web I decided to do the second batch by bringing it up to temp using 2 elements and then turned off the second element and to my delight it was pretty easy to run it to the recommended temps and I experienced nothing untoward behavior. :clap: Although it did take close to five hours to run the cycle.
I used the prescribed amount of dextrose with turbo yeast (I am in the tropics)
when the fermentation completed I used Turbo clear and even used foam stop in the still .
So have i overlooked something or the instruction manual misleading /incomplete. :?
Fuzzybear

equipment: Essencia Super Express 3000W Still

Re: First run on Super Express 3kw Still

Postby Sam. » Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:11 pm

Howdy mate, might want to head over to the welcome centre and introduce yourself :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Do they make a 3000W standard? thought all the HBS rigs only had 1 element?

Also...Turbo?..... :laughing-rolling:
Sam.
Lifetime Member

equipment: Original FSD 5 plate 4 inch modular bubbler SSG with hand crafted plates and parrot by Mac.
18 Gal boiler.
2 x 2400W elements and power controller.

Postby Frothwizard » Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:15 pm