Help needed running my reflux still

Reflux still design and discussion

Help needed running my reflux still

Postby cap73n » Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:37 pm

Here is a schematic of what I have built. I'm not really sure if its VM or LM. Its basically all stainless steel that I've tigged together plus a bit of copper silver soldered in wherever I could.

My still.jpg

The water flow is adjustable on each individual condenser. The power is also adjustable on one of the elements (I only use one once it is up to boil).

Basically, I modified my pot still which I've been using for 3 years so that I could get a high quality neutral from hopefully a single run. But now I don't really know how to run this while keeping it in equilibrium. So first of all is this a VM or a LM still? And second do I need any more modifications?

Thanks in advance - Captain
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cap73n

equipment: Home made stainless VM reflux still with a 50mm x 1.5m column and a 28L boiler powered by twin 2000w internal elements. Column is packed with copper mesh.

Re: Help needed running my reflux still

Postby TheMechwarrior » Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:54 pm

I think you better post a couple of photos of your setup mate, we need to be sure that what you've built is safe etc.
You should also spend a little time reading before you build...so you know what you've built and you get exactly what it is you are after.
Start here: viewtopic.php?f=57&t=3117

Cheers,

Mech.
TheMechwarrior

equipment: Five Star Distilling 6" neutraliser with
100L boiler

Postby C2H6O » Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:02 pm

As Mech said mate a pic of the rig would help. Couple of questions to start mate, does that 1/2 inch gate valve control how much vapor comes out? Is the column open to the atmosphere? I.e is there a hole at the top of the column above the condenser? This is critical or your still will become pressurised and blow up.

Does it have slant plates under the condenser?