My adventure with a Keggomax CM still

Reflux still design and discussion

My adventure with a Keggomax CM still

Postby Reflux1 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:22 pm

Hope this is the correct place to post
As a novice I liked to hear accounts of how people distil. Especially using the same equipment I have. So hopefully this may help someone. Here is my account of distilling my 3rd wash. My first two wash’s distilled at 87%, the second at 93%. My present wash is a 26l TPW, which at this moment is coming of the still at 94 to 95%.
I have a Keggomax Coolant Managed (CM) still on a 30l electric boiler. Both purchased on ebay. After my first attempts, and lots of reading my modifications were:
1. Insulated the still from top to bottom in a black foam pipe insulation material. The stuff you used to put on your car roof racks.
2. I run a pipe to the reflux condenser from the garden tap.
3. I run a separate pipe from a 1000l tank to the other condenser. I found this much better than using a manifold. When you change the flow on one side of a manifold it does change the flow on the other side making it very hard to control. Just working on one valve is easier to control.
4. I control the water flow with a brass gate valve which is accurate enough for the condenser flow control. I don’t think an expensive needle valve is needed for water flow. OK for LM stills.
5. I added 3 more stainless steel scrubbers to the factory supplied setup.
6. I try to control the temperature at 76 to 78 degrees. At this temperature it gives. 94.5 to 95% . However the flow rate is very slow. A few hours for 1000ml’s.
7. If I decrease the water flow to bring the temp up to 79.5 degrees the flow rate increases substantially. However the ABV drops to 93 to 94.