Please help me get on track

Reflux still design and discussion

Please help me get on track

Postby Eki_Thump » Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Hi everyone,

Following on from my hello in the welcome centre yesterday, I would like some advice to help me improve my current still please. I will attempt to upload a photo of the full system at the bottom of this message but essentially it is comprised of;

50L beer keg fitted with 2 x weldless keg king 2200W elements
I had the flange to the keg modified to accept a standard 32mm brass thread and copper stand pipe (packed with SS scrubbers)
The distillation head is the EBAY one, I have had to try some home soldering to stop leaks. I am not good at soldering, this was my first attempt so whilst it looks ordinary it did stop the leaks.
Overall height of the copper stand pipe and head is 1200mm, all brass threads are standard 32mm

I am thinking about the MacBoka kit to substitute my copper work, would this be a simple changeover? Maybe I will need to source a standard flange for the keg so a pipe clamp fitting could be used to fix it in place?

Secondly, provided I can check the integrity of the existing copper I was thinking I could remove the packing and use it as a pot still for stripping runs. With the packing installed I managed to extract 5L @ 55% from a 25L TPW on Sunday so it seems like it might be OK as a secondary still? or is the consensus to just scrap it?

I am relatively inexperienced, have completed around 12 Turbo washes and one TPW. At this stage I am only interested in making a nice neutral and on reading the forums think I should at least upgrade my still head.

I would appreciate any advice, thankyou.

Eki_Still.JPG

Eki_Stand_pipe_&_condeser.JPG

Eki_keg_flange.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Eki_Thump

equipment: 50L Keg Boiler fitted with 2 x 2200W elements
"CopperStillMan" Copper distillation head

Re: Please help me get on track