Oaking during fermentation ?

This area is for recipes that are not yet proven, use this area for experiments, recipe research and development of your own variations. Once a recipe is accepted as being good by the consensus it will be moved to the proven section.

Oaking during fermentation ?

Postby Freemasha » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:25 pm

hello all fellow distillers!

newby to these forms, but not a complete newb to the art!
Short of the introductory yada yada, looking for some input on an idea.

I have been brewing beer, wine, cider etc for many moons and am wondering the distilling potential of oaking during ferm.
i know with wine making its a common practice to dev diffrent oak flavours/characters by oaking at various stages .

has anyone ever tried oaking say 10grams oak chips per 5lts than running through a still ?

anyone have any ideas about oak flavour being burnt in the still, or the flavour being carried to spirit?

In case anyone asks; 2inch detunable head, 100lt boiler, etc

thanyou for your wise input men, lookimg.forward to posting some.samples of the final product, unless i die, of wood poisoning.
Freemasha

equipment: LOOKING FOR 100LT STAINLESS BOILER

Re: Oaking during fermentation ?

Postby Sam. » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:55 pm

I believe the only benefit of aging in wood is at a higher ABV upwards of 50% etc. doing it in a normal ferment of say 10% all you might extract is a flavour that you dont really want.

If you go down this track you could age then re run spirit for a different take... :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Sam.
Lifetime Member

equipment: Original FSD 5 plate 4 inch modular bubbler SSG with hand crafted plates and parrot by Mac.
18 Gal boiler.
2 x 2400W elements and power controller.

Postby crow » Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:21 pm